Manipur Polo International Tournament 2016

Manipur Polo International Tournament 2016

Featured Image: The victorious Australian Team at the Manipur Polo International Tournament in 2016′

Jock Mackay is third from the left. Fellow Wirragulla team mate Beau Blundell is on his left.

The International Polo Tournament organised by the Manipur Horse Riding and Polo Association is held at the Mapal Kanjeibung; the oldest polo ground in the world. Polo originated in the small north eastern State of Manipur in 3100BC where it was played as sago/kangjei, Sago means pony and kangjei is a game of sticks. The earliest records of polo can be found in court chronicles that date back to the first century.

In 2016 it was ‘back to the future’ for Jock Mackay of ‘Cangon’, Dungog and ‘Wirragulla Polo Club’. Jock together with team mates Scott Kennedy-Green, Beau Blundell, Adam Tolhurst, Alex Barnett and Hugh Parry-Okeden the Australian Team emerged victorious. Manipur is geographically close to where Jock’s great grandfather Curtis Skene worked as a tea planter and played polo in Assam almost 100 years ago. Jock also emulated his late father Jaime (one of the Hunter Valley’s very finest) in representing his country at polo.

The following report was printed in the ‘Eastern Mirror’.

International polo concludes in Imphal

By our correspondent/ November 29, 2016  /  Comments Off on International polo concludes in Imphal

IMPHAL, November 29: The Australian polo team won the 10th Manipur Polo International 2016 title after defeating India-B team 9-6 goals in the final match of the International tournament played at the historic Mapal Kangjeibung, the oldest living polo ground in the world located in the heart of Imphal city on Tuesday.

Australia’s scorers were Adam Tolhurst, Beau Blundell and Jock Mackay while scorers of the India-B team include P Ojit, S Bimol, T Pradeep and M Jawan.

Unites States of America team took the third place title after beating England by 7-6 goals. The tournament was held under the aegis of the Manipur Horse Riding and Polo Association (MHRPA) as part of the 10-day annual tourism festival called Manipur Sangai Festival 2016 which is scheduled to conclude on Wednesday.

This year four foreign teams from the Australia, England, Kenya and United States of America besides India-A (representing Indian Polo Association) and India-B represented by players from Manipur took part in the weeklong competition.

The NSW Polo Association posted the following acknowledgement:

30 Nov 2016

Congratulations to the Australian team, all from NSW, who defeated India in the final to win the tournament!

1. Scott Kennedy-Green: 1 goal
2. Beau Blundell: 2 goals
3. Adam Tolhurst: 4 goals
4. Jock Mackay 4 goals

Reserve: Alex Barnet: 2 goals
Team Manager: Hugh Parry-Okeden 0 goals