Champion Australian & NZ Racehorses: Manikato & Century

Champion Australian & NZ Racehorses – ‘Egalitarian Extras’

Featured Image: Manikato & Century

Acknowledge: ‘The Australian & New Zealand Thoroughbred’ by Ross du Bourg

Manikato (Manihi – Markato by Natural Bid*)

With Gary Willetts up ‘Manikato’ streaks to the winning post in the classic $80,000 VATC Caulfield Guineas (1600m) on 14 October 1978 in a time of 1 min. 36.6 secs. (Racetrack)

Century (Better Boy* – Royal Suite by Rego*)

Century in playful mood at Mr & Mrs David Leighton’s Mornmoot Stud, Whittlesea, Victoria in May 1979. Century made modern turf history by taking out both the Australian General Sire’s and Two-Year-Old Premierships in 1978-79 with only his first two crops on the racetrack.